Informational only — not legal or immigration advice. Visa rules and fees change often. For advice on your case, consult a registered OISC or RCIC adviser. Not affiliated with any government or embassy. Last updated: 24 July 2026.
By Nigerian Immigration-Process Specialist (pending assignment), Nigerian immigration-process specialist.
This index sets out the visa requirements for Nigerians by country across every guide on this site: 27 destination guides plus the UK, US and Schengen pillars. It sorts them by how you apply from Nigeria, not by continent. Some destinations ask for nothing but your green passport at the border. Others want an online application paid before you fly. Kenya asks a Nigerian for neither, on a stay of up to 60 days. A few still need an appointment at the embassy/consulate in Nigeria. Find your route below, then open that destination’s guide for its dated visa fee in ₦ and its official portal.

The four routes Nigerians actually apply through
In short: from Nigeria, every destination on this site falls into one of four routes — visa-free, permit on arrival, apply online first, or a visa arranged before you travel — and Kenya, where a Nigerian passport now needs neither visa nor eTA for up to 60 days, shows how fast these rules move. Source: etakenya.go.ke general information, checked 25 July 2026; immigration.gov.ng.
Aggregator directories sort by continent. That tells you nothing about Monday morning, when you sit down to apply. This index sorts by the action instead. Nigerian passport power / ranking indexes put your green passport at about 45 destinations visa-free or on arrival (Henley Passport Index, 2025). The four tables below place the rest.
Route from Nigeria | What you actually do | What you pay |
|---|---|---|
Visa-free (ECOWAS) | Show your green passport at the border | No visa fee |
Permit on arrival | Register or pay when you land | Free to moderate, paid on arrival |
Apply online first (e-Visa / eTA) | Apply and pay on a government portal before you fly | Priced on each portal; Kenya exempts Nigerians up to 60 days |
Arrange before you travel | Book an appointment, submit documents, wait | Fee in USD, GBP or EUR; naira cards often decline |
Route status is a live fact, not a permanent one. Kenya scrapped tourist visas in January 2024 and required an eTA from every visitor, then exempted Nigerians and most other African nationals in 2025. Read the tables as a map to the right guide. Confirm the current position on the official portal that guide links before you book a flight or pay anyone.
Each destination guide carries the tourist/business visa per country, its document checklist, its processing time, its dated visa fee in ₦ and its own scam-agent warning. This hub does not repeat that detail. It routes you to it. Destinations without a link below publish in this same cycle.
Visa-free routes: ECOWAS and the 90-day rule
In short: from Nigeria, ECOWAS member states admit a green-passport holder for up to 90 days with no visa and no fee, though Mali, Niger and Burkina Faso announced their withdrawal from the bloc in 2025. Source: immigration.gov.ng; ECOWAS protocol on free movement.
Destination | Route from Nigeria | Cost |
|---|---|---|
Ghana | Visa-free, up to 90 days under the ECOWAS protocol | No visa fee |
Benin, Togo, Côte d'Ivoire, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Guinea | Visa-free, up to 90 days | No visa fee |
Caribbean islands (Barbados, Dominica, Haiti, St Kitts & Nevis) | Status differs island by island; several are visa-free | No visa fee where it applies |
Statuses from each guide’s own official-portal research, 2026 cycle. Confirm on that portal before you book.
Two things catch people here. Visa-free is not paperwork-free, and a border officer can still ask for your return ticket and proof of funds. On a Caribbean routing, the country you connect through often needs its own transit visa, which is how those trips usually fail. The full list sits at visa-free countries for Nigerians.
Permit or visa on arrival: what you get when you land
In short: from Nigeria, Rwanda, the Maldives, Seychelles and Mauritius issue a permit or visa when you land, but the airline desk in Lagos still checks your return ticket, funds and accommodation before it boards you. Source: destination immigration portals; immigration.gov.ng.
Destination | Route from Nigeria | Cost |
|---|---|---|
Rwanda | Visa on arrival under its open-visa policy for African nationals; yellow-fever certificate required | Fee dated on its guide |
Maldives | Free visitor visa on arrival, 30 days, with a mandatory pre-arrival traveller declaration | No visa fee |
Seychelles | No visa; a visitor permit is issued on arrival, conditional on accommodation, funds and a return ticket | Permit fee dated on its guide |
Mauritius | Permit on arrival, with a funds-per-day expectation | Fee dated on its guide |
Cape Verde |
| Not stated |
Statuses from each guide’s own official-portal research, 2026 cycle. Confirm on that portal before you book.
This bucket produces most refused boardings. The permit is granted at the destination. The check happens in Lagos.
Apply online first: e-Visa and eTA routes
In short: from Nigeria, a growing group of destinations is applied for entirely online, while Kenya now needs neither visa nor eTA for a stay of up to 60 days — but Turkey and Morocco open their online routes to Nigerians only if you already hold a valid Schengen, US or UK visa. Source: etakenya.go.ke general information, checked 25 July 2026; evisa.gov.tr.
Destination | Route and the condition to watch | Cost |
|---|---|---|
Kenya | No visa and no eTA for a Nigerian passport holder staying up to 60 days, under the 2025 Amendment Rules; the eTA applies only beyond that | From US$30, about ₦46,200, and only beyond 60 days |
Egypt | e-Visa or embassy route; eligibility plus a sponsor or hotel confirmation | Fee dated on its guide |
India | Official e-Visa at indianvisaonline.gov.in; strict photo spec; separate medical-travel category | Fee dated on its guide |
Turkey | Official e-Visa at evisa.gov.tr — open to Nigerians only with a valid Schengen, US or UK visa or residence permit; otherwise a consulate visa | Fee dated on its guide |
Qatar | Hayya platform or a sponsored visit visa; eligibility depends on your profile, and a confirmed hotel is required | Fee dated on its guide |
Morocco | Electronic authorisation (AVE), usually tied to already holding a Schengen, US or UK visa | Fee dated on its guide |
Ethiopia | Official e-Visa; transit and entry are different products; the portal is heavily cloned | Fee dated on its guide |
Tanzania | e-Visa; a referral step makes Nigerian applications slower; Zanzibar adds an insurance requirement | Fee dated on its guide |
Sri Lanka | Official ETA; one of the most cloned portals anywhere; onward-ticket check at boarding | Fee dated on its guide |
Azerbaijan | ASAN e-Visa; eligibility conditions, plus a tour-operator letter where it applies | Fee dated on its guide |
Thailand | Official e-Visa; eligibility varies by purpose; funds and onward ticket checked in Lagos | Fee dated on its guide |
East Africa (Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda) | One joint tourist visa, applied for online; it sits alongside Kenya's own entry rules | Fee dated on its guide |
Cambodia |
| Not stated |
Statuses from each guide’s own official-portal research, 2026 cycle. Confirm on that portal before you pay.
Two warnings cover this whole bucket. Every portal above has clone sites charging a markup over the government fee, so check the URL against the one your destination guide names. And when your naira card declines at the USD total, that is the ordinary Nigerian checkout wall — work through it with how to pay visa fees from Nigeria.
Arrange before you travel: appointments, VACs and sponsors
In short: from Nigeria, these destinations need the visa in hand before you fly, and the submission channel varies — an appointment at a VAC, a licensed sponsor, or an authorised local agent. Source: gov.uk; travel.state.gov; destination consular pages.
Destination | Route and submission channel |
|---|---|
China | Full visa through the Chinese Visa Application Service Centre, Lagos or Abuja; L tourist and M business differ; biometrics in person |
South Africa | Full visa through VFS Global for the Department of Home Affairs; police clearance and yellow-fever set; appointment scarcity is the real constraint |
Dubai / UAE | Sponsored visit visa: airline sponsorship on a confirmed ticket, a licensed UAE agency, a hotel host, or the official GDRFA/ICP channel |
Saudi Arabia | |
Malaysia | Visa required, as Nigeria sits outside the visa-free and eNTRI lists; plus a pre-arrival digital arrival card |
Singapore | Visa required, and you cannot submit it yourself — an authorised local agent files it for you |
Full visa; biometrics at a VAC; no visa-free or on-arrival route exists | |
Full visa; DS-160, MRV fee, then an embassy interview | |
Full visa through the member-state consulate or its appointed VAC; a reported 45.9% of Nigerian applications were refused in 2024 (source: European Commission Schengen short-stay visa statistics, 2024 reporting year — secondary summary, see Sources) |
Statuses from each guide’s own official-portal research, 2026 cycle. Schengen refusal rate: EU Schengen visa statistics for 2024 — see Sources.
The UK, US and Schengen carry enough process depth to earn their own pillars, so they get full guides rather than a row in the four-route logic.
Before you pay any agent
In short: from Nigeria, the official government fee is published on every portal above, so any service fee quoted on top of it is a commercial charge you can check before you pay it. Source: immigration.gov.ng; destination government portals.
Reseller mills undercut nearly every route on this page. They copy the official portal, add a markup, then take your payment. One Nigerian applicant posting on r/Nigeria in August 2025 was quoted over $800 for an e-visa that costs a fraction of that on the government platform. Two habits protect you. Check any agent against how to spot a fake visa agent before money moves. And if you are not yet sure which route applies to you, start at do I need a visa.
Frequently asked questions
Which countries can Nigerians travel to, and how do I apply?
Nigerians travel on one of four routes, and which one applies depends on the destination, not the continent: visa-free, an online e-Visa or eTA, a permit issued on arrival, or a visa arranged in advance. ECOWAS states are visa-free for up to 90 days on a valid Nigerian passport. Kenya asks a Nigerian for neither visa nor eTA on a stay of up to 60 days. A group of destinations wants an online e-Visa or eTA before you fly, such as Ethiopia or India. A few issue a permit when you land, such as the Maldives. Everywhere else, including the UK, US and Schengen area, needs a visa arranged in advance. Open that destination's own guide for its exact steps and its official portal.
Which destinations give Nigerians an e-visa?
Ethiopia, India, Sri Lanka, Azerbaijan, Tanzania and Egypt run online application routes that Nigerian passport holders can use, each with its own conditions. Kenya runs an eTA portal too, but Nigerians are exempt from it for stays of up to 60 days. Turkey and Morocco are the trap: their online routes are open to Nigerians only if you already hold a valid Schengen, US or UK visa or residence permit. Confirm the current condition on the destination's official portal before you pay anyone.
Which destinations are visa on arrival for Nigerians?
Rwanda, the Maldives, Seychelles and Mauritius issue a permit or visa on arrival for Nigerian passport holders. On arrival is not the same as unconditional. Most still expect a return ticket, proof of funds and confirmed accommodation, and those are checked at the airline desk in Lagos before you board.
How much does each visa cost from Nigeria, in ₦?
It varies by destination and moves with the exchange rate, so this index carries no blended figure. Kenya costs a Nigerian nothing for a stay of up to 60 days; its eTA starts at US$30, about ₦46,200 at our 25 July 2026 rate, and only beyond that window. Each destination guide states its own dated ₦ figure, converted from the official government price, plus the reality of paying it with a Nigerian card.
Which visas can I get without an embassy appointment?
The online routes (Ethiopia, India, Sri Lanka, Azerbaijan, Tanzania, Egypt) and the on-arrival routes (Rwanda, Maldives, Seychelles, Mauritius) need no embassy visit. Kenya and ECOWAS travel need no visa at all. China, South Africa, Singapore and the Gulf routes still need an in-person appointment, an authorised agent or a sponsor.
No comments yet